Sick on Vacation

Standard

So, while on my vacation to the Northland (Minnesota), I came down with a nasty cold.  It sucks to be sick any time at all, but it REALLY sucks to be sick while you’re on vacation.  I tried not to let it get in the way of fun, but I mostly felt like dirty socks for the last few days.  The worst part, though, was getting on the plane, knowing it would play havoc with my ears.  I bought the flight earplugs that are supposed to help equalize the pressure, but they can only do so much.  My left ear is still all stopped up, while the right one gives me occasional relief by popping open randomly, then slowly stopping back up.  I’m also a snot factory, and my throat is as scratchy as an emery board.  Sounds delightful, doesn’t it?

The first time I was ever sick on vacation was on my 5th birthday.  We had driven from my home in Mississippi to my uncle’s house in Chicago (in our new Rambler station wagon), and on my big day, we were going to hit the road again to visit my Aunt Gwinney and Uncle Ernie in Detroit.  Well, I woke up puking everything that I even thought about putting in my mouth.  My parents made me a pallet in the back of the Rambler, and off we went to Detroit, with many puke stops along the way.  When we got to my aunt’s house, she had a Mickey Mouse birthday cake for me, but I could barely look at it.  Aunt Gwinney was a nurse, so she took me to the doctor’s office where she worked, and I got a BIG shot, which totally pissed me off.  Quite frankly, here 50 years later, I’m still pretty pissed about it.  On vacation, AND on my birthday, a shot???  Not right, not right at all.  I must admit, however, that I felt much better after a while, and even managed a piece of cake before I went to bed that night.  The next day, I felt well enough to go on the ferry to Windsor, Canada!!  Not bad for a five year old from Mississippi…

 

Leave a Reply

