Comeback Sauce–If you’ve never heard of it, just see what you’ve been missing!!!!

Standard

If you’re from Mississippi, you know what Comeback Sauce is.  If you’re not from Mississippi, you need to be enlightened.  Comeback Sauce is a little bit of heaven right here on earth.  We use it for a salad dressing, to dip our boiled shrimp , veggies, chips, whatever in.  I grew up with it, and when I was a little kid, I thought that’s what salad dressing WAS.  My mom always had it in the fridge, and we loved it.  It’s a little like Thousand Island dressing, but a million times better.  So, when I decided to do the Whole30 (and maybe continue with Paleo afterwards), the thought of never having Comeback again was just depressing.  So, this morning I made it my goal to take my mom’s recipe and use it to concoct a Paleo/Whole30 version.  Imagine my excitement when it turned out really good!!!  You might even say delicious!!  A couple of friends of mine dropped by and I made them taste test it for me, and they both gave it a thumbs up.  So, I thought I’d share the recipe here.  Before you start on the actual sauce, you’ll need Paleo mayo and ketchup.  I use the mayo recipe from Well Fed Paleo, and I think it’s the same one that’s in It Starts with Food.  I found the (simple) ketchup recipe at paleoleap.com.  So, once you have that you’re ready to get started.

Paleo Comeback Sauce

1/2 c. mayo

1/4 c. ketchup

1/2 T. prepared mustard

1-2 cloves garlic

1/2 small onion, chopped

2 T. unsweetened applesauce

Dash of coconut aminos

1/2 t. salt, 1/8 t. black pepper

1/2 c. light olive oil

Put all ingredients except the oil in the blender and puree til smooth.  Then take the center out of the lid of the blender and drizzle the oil in slowly until it’s all incorporated.  Take a sample and adjust salt and pepper to taste.  Then roll your eyes, and sigh in ecstasy!!!

You can thank me later!!

Leave a Reply

