Yet Another Whole30

Standard

Here I go again.  I am currently on Day 16 of my third Whole30.  I’m hoping that the third time will be the charm.  Maybe I’m just a slow learner, but I figure that 50+ years of bad food habits are just that hard to break!  It’s so difficult for me to stay on the straight and narrow when I’m not under strict guidelines, but I swear before God above that This Time I’m not going to undo everything when the Whole30 is over.  I will try to make myself enjoy the good food I’ve discovered and pretty much stick with the Paleo lifestyle.  I’ve discovered a blog site that I adore, PaleOMG, that makes me think there’s hope for me yet.  If you are struggling along feeling like a failure because you had that glass of wine or that serving of pasta salad at the party, you need to check out this site.  Realistic, full of good humor, and TONS of great recipes.  And, no, I am not being paid to plug it.  If only…

My biggest gripe about the Whole30, and Paleo in general, is not the amount of cooking I have to do.  It’s the damn cleaning afterward.  In case I’ve never mentioned it before, I HATE TO CLEAN!!!!  It makes me whiny and bitchy.  And every time I cook a meal, I have to clean the kitchen so that I can cook the next one.  Sigh…it never ends.

A friend and co-worker just finished a Whole30, but the one with the auto-immune part thrown in.  Even more stringent than the regular one.  She did well and is trying to stick to Paleo.  We have little “rap” sessions every day to share recipes and bitch a bit.  Helps to have someone who understands what you’re going through.

Anyway, wish me luck.  I’m crossing my fingers that I can hang in there to the end and beyond…

 

2 responses »

  1. Good luck to you on your journey! My wife and I are on day 5 of Whole30 and we’re valiantly battling against the waffle temptation. I’m going to follow your blog and offer any motivation that I can. I believe in you.

Leave a Reply

